Tiny Harvests

The harvests started out tiny. To begin with, it’d be a bit of dill or basil, usually from thinning seedlings too late. Then a bit of spinach to stir through pasta. Tonight was the second time that I managed enough greens to make side dish for dinner – Tuscan kale leaves, spinach (‘Viking’), and sweet basil. I sauteed them with garlic and a bit of butter, and added toasted pine nuts. The little bit of dill I picked went with the potato dish I had.

I keep nibbling the snow peas and as the result I never have enough to cook with. My boyfriend took some pictures as mementos of our harvest. Also, here’s me, with the pea leaves conveniently obstructing my face. The peas should start producing a lot more soon, and then my harvest will be slightly less tiny.

Leave a Reply

